Tegucigalpa Honduras History

Tegucigalpa may not have the best reputation among travelers in Central America, but the capital of Honduras has some charm with its cobbled streets, hidden parks and colorful architecture.

The National Identity Museum has two must-see attractions - the National Identity Museum and the Museum of the Government of Honduras. The latter is probably the most comprehensive museum in Honduras and offers a comprehensive insight into the history of its government and its people. Housed in a 19th century building, this museum is a must for anyone who wants to learn more about the history of Hondurans and their peoples. There are many opportunities to visit the ancient architecture and churches and learn about the history and government of Tegucigalpa and Honduras as a whole.

Honduras is located in Central America and borders modern Guatemala, the other five temples are located in the city of Tegucigalpa, the capital of Honduras, and in San Pedro Sula, El Salvador.

It borders Guatemala, Nicaragua and El Salvador and has a population of just over eight million, in Tegucigalpa and San Pedro Sula, the capital of Honduras and second largest city of the country, live 6,823,568 people.

Both have homicide rates that are above the national average, as do many other cities in Honduras, including Tegucigalpa and San Pedro Sula, the country's second-largest city and third-largest in Guatemala.

HISTORY Honduras is located in the Mayan civilization that spread southward from the Yucatan Peninsula (now Guatemala) and was responsible for the foundation of the city of Tegucigalpa and its capital San Pedro Sula. Honduras, now Honduran, is cut off from the former Guatemalan nation by the Avenida Republica de Chile (which is a fifteen-minute walk east of its center). HISTORY Honduras was located in what is now El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras and the United States of America.

In 1539 Honduras was part of the colony of New Spain of the Spanish Empire on the Yucatan Peninsula and became part of the captaincy of a general in Guatemala that year. Under the administration of the Spanish colony of New Spain, it became known as Spanish Honduras, which distinguished it from British Honduras and modern Belize. For most of the time, until 1821, the Hondurans were divided into two provinces, Comayagua and Tegucigalpa.

Two years later, Cádiz Cortes divided Guatemala into two provinces: one was called Guatemala and included Chiapas, El Salvador, Guatemala and Honduras, and the other Nicaragua and Costa Rica. In 1821, the Federal Republic of Central America was founded, but when the Constitution came into force in 1898, it was renamed the United States of Central America. Two of the original provinces, Comayagua and Tegucigalpa, as well as the capital, did not survive.

In 1898, Nicaragua left the Federation after Guatemala led an anti-federalist uprising, and Costa Rica and Honduras followed suit.

Now the President of Guatemala, Justo Rufino Barrios, was killed in combat in El Salvador and tried to reunite the states of the former federal republics by force of arms, but Honduras did not want to go down that road. The irony of Honduras "independence is that of all the countries in Central America, it was Honduras that pushed the most for the cohesion of the country. Honduras and Nicaragua also fought each other during the civil war, and became entangled in each other's neighboring countries, Guatemala and El Salvador. Although Morazan defeated the invaders, he failed in his attempt to overthrow Guatemala's new conservative regime, and by the time he was in El Salvador, Honduras and Nicaragua were already at war.

Honduras, which the US used to enforce its goals in Central America, was located in the south of the country, near the borders with Guatemala and El Salvador. In order to gain territory in southern Central America, Honduras was incorporated into the captaincy of the generals in Guatemala in 1532. This enabled the founding of the province of Honduras, which was founded in 1532 and produced the capital San Pedro Sula and the city of Tegucigalpa.

After independence from Spain, Honduras was divided into its constituent parts and came under the control of the Captains General of Guatemala. Morazan helped El Salvador, where he defeated the Spaniards, who began to establish settlements along the coast.

Honduras produced a completely dominant land-owning oligarchy, behaving like silver, where the Spaniards had found treasures, but with a much lower standard of living than the Spaniards.

Honduras still has two political parties that emerged in the 19th century, the Democratic Party of Honduras (PDH) and the Republican Party (PRD). There is no legally established political party in Honduras today, except for a small number of small parties and a handful of independents.

The Honduras Country Council meets on a rotating basis and generally has about 70 members. Tegucigalpa has a number of cultural institutions, the most important of which is the National Theatre of Honduras (TNH), founded in 1965 in Guanajuato, Honduras, as a result of a collaboration between the Honduran Ministry of Culture and the Central American University.

More About Tegucigalpa

More About Tegucigalpa